UN Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons – only 4 ratifications to go!

Photo: ICAN. Click to enlarge.

Malaysia has become the 46th nation to ratify the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons. Foreign Minister, Hishammuddin Hussein, signed the instrument of ratification on behalf of Malaysia on 30 September 2020. It was deposited with the United Nations later that day. Just four more ratifications are now needed to bring the treaty into force.

In a video address played at the signing ceremony in the nation’s capital, Kuala Lumpur, to mark the occasion, Hishammuddin Hussein expressed concern that the nuclear-weapon states have been regressing in the area of disarmament.

“Despite some progress over the decades just preceding and after the end of the cold war, recent developments regarding nuclear weapons are going in the wrong direction.

“Instead of fulfilling their legal obligation under the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT), to engage in good faith negotiations leading to nuclear disarmament, global tensions and increased great power rivalry have led nuclear weapons and nuclear-armed states to continue to modernise their nuclear arsenals.

“For Malaysia and many non-nuclear-weapon states, these developments are unacceptable. They affected our security and the security of all states,” he said.

In a tweet, Hishammuddin Hussein also stated that the ratification of the TPNW “reaffirms Malaysia’s unwavering commitment and support towards the total elimination of nuclear weapons.”  He also urged other countries to emulate Malaysia and ratify the treaty at the earliest opportunity. “Malaysia will also work with other partners to realise the long-overdue goal of a world free of the threat of nuclear weapons,” he added.

More information on Malaysia’s ratification of the TPNW can be found here and here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *