Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons enters into force on January 22, 2021!

The Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) enters into force on Friday January 22, 2021.

So far the TPNW has gained 86 signatories and been ratified by 52 nations. The Treaty required a total of 50 ratifications before coming into force. The current list of signatories and ratifications can be viewed here.

To celebrate this historic achievement, a number of events are being organised in Australia and around the world.

These events include:

Nuclear Weapons: Banned!
Martin Place Amphitheatre, Sydney CBD
9.00am to 10:30am on Friday January 22, 2021
A covid-safe gathering to premiere ICAN’s new 7 metre tall inflatable missile, calling on Australia to join the ban. More details can be found on Facebook.

Other events can be viewed here including STUDIO 22.21. This will be a live-streamed event from Geneva, Switzerland, with guests connecting digitally from all over the world. It can be viewed on January 23, 7.00am to 8:30am AEDT on Youtube or Facebook.

The Liberal–National Coalition government has yet to sign and ratify the TPNW despite growing calls from opposition parties, parliamentarians, Indigenous communities, church groups, local councils, trade unions etc. for this to happen. An Ipsos public opinion poll conducted in November 2018 found that 79 per cent of Australians supported the government signing the Treaty.

Take action by emailing your parliamentary representatives to notify them of the Treaty’s entry-into-force and urge them to help bring the era of nuclear weapons and the threat they pose to human survival and the planet’s ecosystems to a permanent end by clicking here.

To read ICAN’s two page briefing paper on the impact of the entry-into-force on Australia, click here.

Update:  ICAN has made the STUDIO 22.21 live-streamed event available on Youtube. Watch it here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *